top of page


There are 27 Nakshatras, or also known as 'mansions of the moon'. Like zodiac signs, they represent traits and have a lord. They offer a great insight into various matters, be it in finding out a person's personality, the right date to start a venture, and so on. Nakshatras are based on the stars in the sky, instead of the tropical zodiac. Hence, they are just as important as zodiac signs. To find the meaning of a nakshatra, click it on the following chart:

Ashwini: (23°46 Aries - 7°06' Taurus) Confidence, impulsiveness, healers, adventurous, travel, exploring, speed, initiating, headstrong, stubborn, brave, child-like, impatient. Lord: Ketu

Bharani: (7°06' - 20°26' Taurus) Disgrace, struggles, transformation, breakthrough, artistic abilities, regeneration, oppressing, jealousy, leadership, revolutionary. Lord: Venus

Anchor 1

Kritika: (20°26' Taurus - 3°46’ Gemini) Violence, protection, guarding, warrior, aggressiveness, disputes, cooking, sexuality. Lord: Sun

Rohini: (3°46 - 17°06' Gemini) Attraction, magnetism, quality, sensuality, fertility, growth, prosperity, materialism. Lord: Moon

Anchor 2
Anchor 3
Anchor 4

Mrigashira: (17°06' Gemini - 0°26' Cancer) Power, incest, destruction, searching, researching, collections, perfection, restlessness, addiction. Lord: Mars

Ardra: (0°26' - 13°46 Cancer) Destruction, storm, sadness, depression, reviving, renovation, struggles, transformation. Lord: Rahu

Anchor 5

Purnavasu: (13°46 - 27°06' Cancer) Travel, renewal, forgiveness, miracles, limitless, sincerity, wisdom, learning, generosity, prosperity. Lord: Jupiter

Pushya: (27°06' Cancer - 10°26' Leo) Spirituality, philosophy, teaching, devotional, firm, uptight, helpful, caring, orthodox, conventional, extremists, wealth, generosity, intelligence. Lord: Saturn

Anchor 6

Āshleshā: (10°26' - 23°46 Leo) Healing powers, kundalini, craftiness, manipulation, dishonesty, double personality, wisdom, occult studies, psychology, hypnotic, cannot take criticism well, business, distrustful, manipulating others, Lord: Mercury

Maghā: (23°46 Leo - 7°06' Virgo) Reincarnation, nobility, ruling, power and ego, leadership, heritage, ancestry, elite. Lord: Ketu

Anchor 7

Pūrva Phalgunī: (7°06' - 20°26' Virgo) Wealth through inheritance, luck, fortune, sociable, creative, expression, artistic ability, joy, generosity, extremity, loyalty. Lord: Venus

Uttara Phalgunī: (20°26' Virgo - 3°46 Libra) Attachment, separation anxiety, friendship, family, unity, humanitarian, giving, honour, courage, charitable, controlling, stubborn. Lord: Sun

Anchor 8

Hasta: (3°46 - 17°06' Libra) Business, charm, manual skills, artistic ability, writing, manipulation, talent, sense of humour, ideas, concepts, trickery, helping, healing. Lord: Moon

Chitra: (17°06' Libra - 0°26' Scorpio) Special, fame, opportunity, charisma, attraction, standing out, beauty, architecture, shining. Lord: Mars

Anchor 9

Svati: (0°26' - 13°46 Scorpio) Communication, control, persuasion, grace, intuition, shallowness, spiritual. Lord: Rahu

Vishakha: (13°46 - 27°06' Scorpio) Determination, powerful, courageous, concentration, egocentric, jealousy, revengeful, unforgiving, social, clever. Lord: Jupiter

Anchor 10

Anuradha: (27°06' Scorpio - 10°26' Sagittarius) Spirituality, long life, friendship, family, loving, loyalty, leadership, melancholy, depression, sharing, compassion, living away from home, difficult relationship with mother. Lord: Saturn

Jyeshtha: (10°26' - 23°46 Sagittarius) Action oriented, creative, metaphysical, controlling, powerful, jealousy, wisdom, wealth, low self esteem. Lord: Mercury

Anchor 11

Mula: (23°46 Sagittarius - 7°06' Capricorn) Destruction, denial, self-destruction, breakthrough, addictions, enlightenment, pain, sadness, transition, spiritual realizations, healing powers. Lord: Ketu

Purva Ashadha: (7°06' - 20°26' Capricorn) Philosophy, righteousness, justice, pushing beliefs on other people, travelling overseas, adventures, idealistic, truthful, honest, influential, opinionated, black and white thinking, critical. Lord: Venus

Anchor 12

Uttara Ashadha: (20°26' Capricorn - 3°46 Aquarius) Ambitious, action oriented, doing the right thing, honesty, musical talent, fame, recognition, responsible, purpose, commitment, leadership. Lord: Sun

Shravana: (3°46 - 17°06' Aquarius) Listening, learning, leadership, knowledge, counselling, travelling, traditions, insensitive to others, being sensitive about themselves, wealth. Lord: Moon

Anchor 13

Dhanishta: (17°06' Aquarius - 0°26' Pisces) Abundance, wealth, emptiness, shallowness, superficiality, materialistic, marital discord, narcissism, travelling. Lord: Mars

Shatabhisha: (0°26' - 13°46 Pisces) Healing, intelligent, scientific, astrology, astronomy, learning, metaphysical, moody, depression, indifferent, aloof, disease, technology, electricity, arrogance. Lord: Rahu

Anchor 14

Purva Bhādrapadā: (13°46 - 27°06' Pisces) Two faced, split personality, sorrow, disappointment, self-reflection, self-improvement, passionate, extremist, persuasive power, transformation. Lord: Jupiter

Uttara Bhādrapadā: (27°06' Pisces - 10°26' Aries) Solitude, mystical, intuitive, protective, profound, egoless, inheritance, spiritual. Lord: Saturn

Anchor 15

Revati: (10°26' - 23°46 Aries) Travelling, safety, intuition, meditation, politeness, kindness, animal lover, charitable, compassionate, forgiving. Lord: Mercury

Anchor 16
bottom of page